Structure of the Governing Body

We can have a total of 14 governors; this is laid down in our “Instrument of Government” which is the legal basis of any school governing body.

We must have a majority of “Foundation Governors”: these are governors nominated by either the Parochial Church Council, or from the Blackburn Diocesan Board of Education. In our case we have 8 Foundation Governors, which includes an ex-officio member (3 of whom should be parents of children at school if possible). There are two elected “Parent Governors” (this number is dictated by the number of pupils at the school). There is one representative nominated from the LA. Finally there is a staff representative and a clerk. The Headteacher has the option of joining the governing body and we are fortunate that our head has elected to serve. Governors normally serve for a period of 4 years.

Below is the list of governors, their designation and term of office end date.

Local Authority

Representative (LA)

Mrs. L Winston (Chair)


Ex-Officio Rev. Michael Hampson


Foundation Governors Vacancy

Mrs K Paice

09.18-09.22 Resigned 12.19

Dr. A Towse


Mrs. H Astin


Mrs. Michelle Norris


Mr. P King



Mrs D Brown

10.17-10.21 resigned 07.21


Mrs Carol Webster

09.20-09.24 resigned 07.20

Headteacher Mr. K. Stafford-Roberts


Parent Representatives Mr. T Turner 04.18-04.22
Mr. I Vincent 04.18-04.22
Staff Representative Mrs. Catherine Sharpe


Clerk to the Governors Ms Sarah Prince (LA)

To help you get to know your governors we have provided a brief description of ourselves and any financial or business interests / positions on ours and other governing bodies.

Michael Hampson- Curriculum & Communications Committee

I am vicar of Hornby, Whittington, Arkholme and Gressingham. I regularly lead school assemblies, and the school service in church on one Wednesday morning each term.

Kerry Stafford-Roberts – Headteacher

I have been in education for 31 years as a teacher, Local Authority Adviser, Governor and Headteacher. I am currently Head and on the Governing Body of both Hornby and Leck schools. I am married to Jacqueline and have three children, my youngest still at university. We live near Kendal. When I am not working I enjoy outdoor pursuits, DIY and volunteer for the Ambulance Service as a First Responder and Kentdale first aid for event cover.

Michelle Norris – Chair of Finance & Staffing Committee

Originally from Caton, I attended Caton St Paul’s Primary School and Lancaster Girls’ Grammar School. I returned to the Lune Valley in 2007 with my husband, Mark, (who attended Hornby St. Margaret’s) after living in Enfield, North London for seven years. I have been a secondary school Science teacher for over 10 years although I am currently taking a break from this to spend time at home with my young family. I have a daughter in Year 7 and Year 3 and a son in Year 5, plus numerous nieces and nephews that have or will attend the school.  Since moving to Hornby I have enjoyed getting involved in village life through my former role as Clerk to the Parish Council and look forward to getting involved in the life of the school as much as possible. I hope that my experience in education will help me to be an effective governor and I look forward to supporting the Head-teacher and staff in the excellent work they do.


Peter King- Curriculum & Communications Committee Chair

I moved to Lancaster on taking up the appointment as headteacher of a local primary school, having previously taught in Coventry and Ellesmere Port, and subsequently took on the same role in a much larger school in West Yorkshire. Following my career in teaching, I worked for a few years at Royal Mail – the last two years of which I was the Delivery Office manager in Grange-over-Sands. It was during this period that my wife and I moved to Hornby five years ago. For just over three years I have been the editor of Contact and more recently became Treasurer of Hornby Village Trust. My initial involvement with the school was in the running of a lunch-time computer coding club. I became a Foundation governor at the beginning of the 2015/16 school year. I am also a foundation governor at Caton St Paul’s C of E Primary School.


Dr Andrea Towse- Finance & Staffing Committee

I have always enjoyed working with young children and I am fascinated in how children learn. Originally from Cornwall, I graduated from Lancaster University in 2006 with a PhD in Cognitive Development. I have carried out research in over 30 primary schools in areas such as: the development of non-verbal reasoning, children’s memories, reading comprehension and preschoolers’ understanding of other people’s intentions. My current role is mainly as a mum and I have a daughter and son at Hornby St Margaret’s, but I still teach occasionally in the Psychology Department. I have been a Foundation Governor since 2015 and am currently on the Finance Committee. Other things I love doing include open water swimming, reading, walking and learning Japanese – I just wish I had more time!

Lyndsey Winston- Chair of Governors, Finance & Staffing Committee Clerk

I am a solicitor, currently non-practising, specialising in commercial property law. I am married, have three children (one at university, one at LGGS and one at school) and have lived in the Lune Valley for the past 13 years. In my spare time, I enjoy singing, reading and walking.

Hannah Astin- Fabric, Health & Safety Committee

I have lived in the Lune Valley all my life and as a child I was fortunate to attend Leck Primary school, which led to my decision in choosing Hornby School for my 3 girls, 1 now attends the school .
Prior to having my children I worked as a Sales Account Manager for a leading physical security company for nearly 10 years.
In our spare time we all enjoy going to our allotment where we have growing competitions!!

Catherine Sharpe- Finance & Staffing Committee 

I am the administrator at school. I have worked in similar roles for the last 16 years. I have a background in finance.

Ian Vincent- Fabric, Health & Safety Committee 

Governor Meeting Attendance Last Academic Year

Governor Attendance

Actual / Possible

Rev M Hampson 4/6
C Sharpe 6/6
Dr A Towse 3/6
P King 5/6
C Webster 2/6
M Norris 5/6
I Vincent 5/6
K Stafford-Roberts 12/12
A Hamlett 5/6
H Astin 3/6
D Brown 4/6
T Turner 5/6
L Winston 6/6
K Paice 4/5